A psychotherapist thinks out loud about Being Human, and stuff…

Shrinkery

Hello. Hello. Is this thing on? Okay, here goes.

I’ve been thinking for the last year or two of writing a blog about what I do for a living; about psychotherapy and the way I practice it. I am not an authority in the field. I am, however, an authority on what I do, and that’s what I intend to write about.

That said, I’m realizing that I have no intention of limiting myself to so narrow a subject. I intend to speculate, to wonder out loud, to deliver myself of opinions. I will try very hard to make them considered opinions, and to label them as such. I’ll be passing along ideas that I’ve encountered in my reading, asking you what you think about them. I’ll probably fulminate, from time to time, about things that have angered me, though I’ll try to keep that to a minimum; there’s enough anger on the net, and in the world in general, without my adding to it. Above all, I expect I’ll be circling constantly around what I consider the Core Question of our human condition: given the fact that we know how to create Heaven on Earth, why don’t we?

Begs the question, doesn’t it? Maybe more than one.

I’ll try to keep these postings short and snappy. You have a lot of things to do, and so do I, but, like that Greek guy said, the unexamined life is not worth living. I intend to examine my little corner of it, and I invite you to come along.

Be well and see you later.

Comments on: "Shrinkery" (6)

  1. It’s on. Can’t wait to see what you make of your piece of the ‘Net.

  2. tigrisdancingjoy said:

    Looking forward to reading your posts, my friend!

  3. Stephanie Bruce said:

    I’ll be very interested to read your entries here, Buff. We don’t know each other well, but you have always seemed to be a deeply thoughtful and articulate person.

  4. Yep, on loud and clear. Lovely to hear your voice in the aether, too.

  5. I am so excited you are doing this! As a fledgling therapist facing a future of “rural” challenges in our small Pagan community, I am really looking forward to hearing about how you are dealing with some of our very real conundrums. Shrink away!!

  6. Excellent! Looking forward to it because that question bugs me something fierce and I’m pretty sure the answer is not 42.

Leave a Reply

